What’s changing?
We’re updating our previously announced data retention policy:
- Starting September 25, 2025, cancelled Formstack accounts and expired trial accounts will have data retained for 60 days.
- Data retention does not mean continued access to Formstack products or data. Once an account is canceled or a trial expires, you will no longer be able to access your forms, documents, or other data within those products.
- Data is retained during this 60-day period in case the account is reinstated.
- This is an extension from the 30-day policy we previously communicated.
- After 60 days of inactivity, the account and all related data will be permanently deleted.
- This change still reduces the retention period from our former 1‑year policy, but gives users more time to access or recover their data.
- This updated policy will apply retroactively to any cancelled, inactive, or non‑paid accounts as of September 25, 2025.
What should I do?
To avoid losing access to important data:
- If you're planning to cancel your Formstack account or let a trial expire, export any critical data before cancellation or expiration. Deleted data cannot be recovered. You will not be able to access your products or data after the account is canceled or the trial expires.
- If you want to keep your account, log in before your data is scheduled for deletion. You’ll receive reminder emails to help you stay on track.
Will I be notified?
Yes. Account admins will receive notifications at the following points:
- When the account is cancelled or the trial ends
- 30 days before scheduled deletion
- 7 days before deletion
- 1 day before deletion
Why is this happening?
We’re extending the retention window from 30 to 60 days to provide more flexibility for returning users—while continuing to improve how we manage data security, privacy, and storage across our systems.
Important: The 60-day retention period is not an access period. After cancellation or trial expiration, Formstack products and the data within them will no longer be accessible unless the account is reinstated.